Thoughts

because momma said so.

People have been telling me for years that I should start a blog; my friends, my coworkers, my mom, my grandfather, my aunt… I’ve toyed with the idea for a long time, knowing I have some pretty good stories (both my own and the memories of some told to me) but how does blogging work exactly? How do you write from the heart without over-sharing; or write the honest truth without your boss/bestie firing you; or write real-life stories that don’t make your family want you dead (I love you Aunt Amy, it’s going to be okay…)?

Mom Lobster
You can just see the optimism in her eyes, can’t you?

Yesterday I went to visit my parents, having just gotten back in town from an OBX trip with some girlfriends; my best girlfriends, girls I’ve known since I was 5 years old. I had just barely begun telling mom and dad about how eerily different all of our lives are now; how we’re all in completely different places and how it’s hard to know where you’re supposed to be when everyone around you is so perfectly where they are. My mom, who’s an eternal optimist always filled with energy and spirit, said to me even more enthusiastically than the million times before, “You should blog. I know great things are coming. I just know it. I feel it more than ever. Things are just falling into place so freaky-weird” …and then we watched Tangled together and she pretty much told me to get a life because I knew all the words.

But you know what they say, “Motherrrrr knows best” (the context of this song in Tangled doesn’t really support my point here but nevertheless…) so I’m going to give this blogging thing a shot for a little while.

I’ve always heard that you “find yourself in losing yourself” so you might have to bear with me in the wanderings of this thing while I get it all figured out.  I hope it at least makes you laugh sometimes… Mom says that the crazy things that happen to me are “building character.” I think I have enough character (an ABUNDANCE of character) at this point but apparently God thinks differently because the stories keep piling up. So, okay, let’s do this thang.

One thought on “because momma said so.

Leave a comment